Welcome to

Ellis County Emergency Services District No. 6


Date of next meeting:

  • Ellis County Emergency Services District NO. 6

    Monday, July 26, 2021, 6:30 PM


Ellis County Emergency Services District No. 6 (ECESD 6) was created by popular vote of the property owners of its predecessor, Ellis County Rural Fire Prevention District No. 7.  The District’s geographic area is defined by that portion of the Waxahachie Independent School District which lies outside the city limits of Waxahachie.  Today, that geographic area measures approximately 140 square miles.  (See “Maps” page.)

An Emergency Services District (ESD) is a grassroots political subdivision created by voters in a defined area to fund fire protection, emergency medical services, or both. More than 300 such districts are now operating in Texas.  ESD's are authorized by the Texas Constitution, Health & Safety Code, Title 9, Chapter 775 and they may levy a tax rate of no more than 10 cents per $100 of property value in their district.  For a home on the tax rolls at $150,000, that is an annual tax of $150, or $12.50 a month.

ESD 6 provides funding for two departments, the Forreston Volunteer Fire Department stationed in Forreston, Texas and the Ellis County ESD 6 Volunteer Fire Department operating two stations in the Waxahachie area.  (See MAPS page.)  ESD 6 VFD is a blended department staffed by volunteers, compensated volunteers and paid personnel who staff a station around the clock.

Ellis County Emergency Services District No. 6 is governed by an appointed board of five commissioners.  They oversee the efforts of devoted firefighters who seek to build a safer future through effective partnerships with local, state and federal agencies to save lives, protect property and reduce the effects of disasters through preparedness, prevention, planning, response, and recovery activities.

Ellis County Emergency Services District No. 6 Board of Commissioners meets on the second Monday of each month at 6:30 PM at the Ellis County Emergency Services District 6 Station 1, located at 1816 FM 66, Waxahachie, Texas 75167. The public is invited and welcome to attend these open meetings.